The Final Countdown.

Well, this is it. I have made my fundraising total and tomorrow, I will be setting off for Lima. From there, I will travel to Cusco, and there I will start the trek up to Macchu Pichu, the ruins of the ancient Incan city.

 

I’m bricking it.

 

But amongst the general malaise of excitement and fear that surrounds my imminent adventure, I have to admit that I’m very proud of what I’ve done. I’m proud to have raised money for such a fantastic charity, I’m proud of the friends and family who have supported me and I’m proud of myself for pushing myself to do something that, just one year ago, I would never have dreamed of doing. I only just managed to scrape together my funds – in the end, it was only a few well-timed donation and the entirety of my waitressing wages that pushed me towards the total, but I don’t regret it for a second.

 

None of this would have been possible without the help and support of my friends, and in particular my family. They have seen me through countless panics, be it over fundraising, insurance and vaccinations, and without their support I would be lost. I am very grateful to have so many wonderful people prepared to help me with my crazy adventures, and it means the world to me that they would lend their support to my deeply ridiculous schemes. I love you guys.

 

With that, there is nothing more for me to say apart from thank you, and goodbye. It’s been awesome.

Leave a Reply

