Cakes for Charity

Ah, the bake sale. The main weapon in every fundraiser’s arsenal. And – coincidentally – the subject of this latest blog post. I have just returned from a cake sale at the Loddon and Beccles Kuk Sool Won group, and have added another £73.77 to my fundraising total. Thank you very much to everyone involved, I really appreciate it!

 

On the surface, the cake sale seems like a foolproof fundraising strategy. After all, who can honestly say that they can resist delicious cake? And seeing as all the profits from a cake sale usually go to charity, buying a cupcake is practically the equivalent of wiping clean a corner of your karmic slate. They might not be good for you, but they’re good for your soul. Think of them as the tiny, delicious equivalent of a Papal indulgence.

 Image

However, the reality is that this strategy rarely wins over everyone. Most potential customers do not have the time to listen to the Papacy-related analogy that I have painstakingly outlined in the paragraph above – they’re either too hungry or just not interested at all. Thankfully, I had a slightly captive audience: a group of hungry martial artists who’d all forgotten to bring their sandwiches! But here are some tips for all you fundraisers out there to make the most of the bake sale you are hosting:

 

  1. Choose your time and place carefully. The ideal time to set up is before a traditional meal time; the earlier the better. Place is equally important: no-one will buy a cake from you if you have set up next to a restaurant.
  2. Spread the word before the event. That way more people will know about your cause, and they’ll also be more likely to remember to bring change.
  3. Provide a range of goods. I chose muffins, and I helped to make three different kinds – I had people asking to try one of each flavour when I was running the stall! I also had access to a kitchen, which meant I could provide people with hot and cold drinks, and bacon rolls when it got closer to lunchtime.
  4. Spend a little time on presentation. Label your prices clearly and lay your things out as neatly as you can. I learned this one from experience: I ran a bake sale last year where I sold rather messily iced buns, and they didn’t sell nearly as well as this year’s!
  5. Don’t eat the goods. Really, don’t do it. You’ll just feel guilty afterwards.

 If you’d like to keep track of my progress – or better yet, to donate to my cause – you can do so here: https://www.myraising.com/jo-harwood/incatrek2013

Total so far: £750

Projected final total: £2850

Amount left to raise: £2100

Leave a Reply

